Lemon Garlic Tuna Burgers

Before I start to indulge you guys with my very slightly tweaked version of these delicious tuna burgers, let me just tell you that someone found my blog by searching:

“Looks like butt cheeks”

O.O

Should I be concerned? Baha!

Anyhow, last night the bearded one worked late so my sister and I whipped up these burgers and sat down to a few episodes of Criminal Minds.  We party hard, I know.

The closest thing I can compare these to in good ole’ southern terms would be salmon patties.  Now, I once made a batch of salmon patties and they were pretty much the most awful tasting things I ever put in my mouth.  And I’m not a bad cook, I promise.  The canned salmon just made me cringe.

On the other hand, I am a tuna lover.  Of all kinds.  I can open up a can of tuna and eat it straight up, maybe with a few crackers on the side. Add lemon, parsley, and green onions (my three favorite things ever) and you’ve pretty much won my heart.

Not to mention those giant chunks of garlic.

To be quite honest, I’d never used panko before.  Not that I’m averse to them or anything, I had just never thought to use it in lieu of regular breadcrumbs.  They’re great, just like an extra crispy version of the original stuff.  Now, I might just go and do something crazy like dip my pickles in them. You’ll see what I mean later.

Just take your tuna and break it up as much as you’d like.  You can process it to get a very mushy, bean-burger-like consistency, or leave it a little flakier for more chunk-a-lunk.

A little parsley… about three tablespoons.

A little bit less than a 1/3 of a cup of the panko breadcrumbs.

Seriously, I could put green onions in just about anything.  Eggs, pasta, salads, burgers… they kind of have a sweet crispness to them.

The juice of half a lemon… put the other in your seltzer water, or in a handy-dandy lemon holder! I got one in my stocking at Christmas last year and it is the cutest little thing.

All together now!

Throw in your egg and three tablespoons of plain Greek yogurt, mix up, and form into four (very wet!) patties and bake for twenty minutes at 400 degrees.

We baked up some sweet potato fries to eat on the side and served the burgers on whole wheat English muffins with a tomato slice and some spinach.

And coming from a girl who is anti-leftovers, these taste just as great out of the toaster oven or microwave the next day.

Enjoy!

Lemon Garlic Tuna Burgers
(adapted from Andie’s, here)

2 5oz cans of tuna
2 garlic cloves, chopped up
3 tablespoons of parsley (more if ya like 😉
1/4 of a cup of green onions
1 egg
3 tablespoons of plain Greek yogurt
1/3 of a cup of panko breadcrumbs (a little less)
Juice of 1/2 a lemon

Mix all ingredients together and bake on a greased cookie sheet for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

If you’ve got it on hand, a few tablespoons of cottage cheese make for a fatter, tangier burger, too.

One thought on “Lemon Garlic Tuna Burgers

Leave a Reply

