Three and a Half Weeks

I’ve been out of school/work for three and a half weeks now and, although I still have tons of packing to do, I am finally starting to get a little bored.  Have I done any planning, you ask? Have I accomplished much or even left the house, for that matter? Negative, ghost rider. 

As a first-year teacher experiencing her first summer of freedom since undergrad years, I am still basking in the loveliness that is a work-free and student-free summer.  Not even the education section of Pinterest has appealed to me yet…. yet. 

Oh, and packing, you ask? Well, I’ve tried to keep it a secret, but we’re trying to buy a house.  Trying, in that, we are currently in escrow and have had to delay closing due to construction.  Construction – yes! Lucky us, we Raders found an under-construction home in a sweet little established neighborhood downtown, a four-minute walk to the zoo.  Many a year ago, the former owners of the house next door had originally planned on building over the two lots, but when the city said nay, the lot proceeded to sit empty for the next umpteen years. The builder has been lazy as hell, to put it kindly, and thus, we are still waiting to close and move.  I’ve slowly been packing up our rental bungalow, but being in limbo makes that quite difficult.  Not to mention, the constant trips to stalk the progress of the house and our tiny menagerie of puppy and kitties.  

Our first house though… right!? I have been nervous and ecstatic for a few months and those emotions are starting to get exhausting.  Can I just relax and DIY my pretty little house already? 

It’s yellow, by the way.  With TWO toilets.  TWO.  We won’t even discuss the anticipation my oft-blocked bladder feels at the thought of never having to wait on a single bathroom again. 

And granite countertops, and stainless steel appliances… all of those things that House Hunters and the Property Brothers mention, that, to be quite honest, have very little meaning to me.  I just want it to be mine.  And for it to be pretty.  

Well, I’ve gone on long enough and I have big plans to take a long shower, exfoliate, and give myself a pedicure.  Will someone please remind me of this luxury come November when I want to tranquilize myself and my students with an elephant-sized dose of something? Or perhaps also in August when I realize that, oh crud, I haven’t done any planning and this month shall be a perpetual Sunday night? 

 

Leave a Reply

