Upcoming Eats & Grocery List

Hello hello!

What am I spending my Saturday night doing? Oh, you know… eating BBQ pizza, watching Get Him to the Greek with my bearded man, and writing out this week’s eats for y’all!

Since it’s Saturday, I’ll go from Sunday to Sunday for you…

Sunday: Lemon Garlic Tuna Burgers + Sweet potato fries

Holy yum, y’all.  I stole this recipe from Andie and tweaked it a bit since I was low on a few of the ingredients.  I will try to post my version with some photos this week. They are amazing on whole wheat English muffins or by themselves.  Also, we couldn’t find any satisfactory sweet potatoes for roasting, so we bought the frozen kind (just as delicious and healthy, promise).

Monday: Eggplant Parmesan

A non-fried version of the Italian classic… The mister and I are going to give eggplant a chance and we figured this has to be a fool-proof way of enjoying a veggie we have shunned for far too long.

Tuesday: Grilled Fish Tacos with Corn & Jicama Salsa

Let’s just talk about how much I love fish tacos… and corn tortillas… and corn salsa.  All great things.  If you haven’t given jicama a chance, you need to get yourself to the nearest produce section and give it a whirl.

Wednesday: Turkey Robinson + Brown rice

What y’all might not know is that Claire Robinson is my favorite Food Network personality.  I race home from work to get home in time to catch her show at 5:30 every day and I drool over all of her dishes and her deliciously fresh ingredients.  This is a mix of all things I love (beans, spinach, turkey), full of protein and vitamins.

Thursday: Penne with white wine & shrimp

We’re getting a little creative with our pasta dishes over here in the Rader household.  Whole wheat penne is our current favorite and mixing it with a little olive oil, onions, white wine, and shrimp helps to keep it tasty and light.

Friday: Baked salmon + roasted fingerling potatoes + green beans

This is hands down the best salmon recipe I’ve ever made.  Don’t let the calorie content scare you, that’s for the entire sum of the marinade.  I would eat the entire batch if I could.

Saturday: Wild card!

I’ve decided that this Saturday, I’m going to peruse the markets and see what inspires me that day… I often find myself lusting after Earth Fare’s handmade ravioli when I’m there, but never think to put it on my menu.  So, if I find a lust-worthy treat that morning, it will be our dinner that night.

Sunday: Braised balsamic chicken + brown rice + mixed greens salad

I looove braised meats.  And I love balsamic vinegar.  And diced tomatoes.  Needless to say, this intrigued me and we’re hoping for the best!

As for my grocery list:

Garlic
Green onions (pretty much a staple in this house)
1 Can of corn
Corn tortillas
1 red onion
1 jicama
1 red bell pepper
Cilantro
2 Limes
2 Lemons
Plain greek yogurt (used as a sub for sour cream)
Tilapia fillets
Chicken breasts
3 cans of diced tomatoes
Salad greens
3 eggplants
White wine (Umm, where’d it all go?)
1 lb. shrimp
Whole wheat penne
Frozen green beans
Sweet potato fries
2 cans of tuna fish
1 lb. ground turkey
Spinach
1 can of cannellini beans
Popcorn (excellent low-fat, low-calorie snack)
Bananas (another staple)

I have to go in search of the red onion and jicama tomorrow, but aside from those our total was around $48.00.  That’s what’s up, y’all.

Stay tuned! I have a lot of great posts planned for this week (Ever wanted to learn how to make your own soft pretzel rolls? Need an easy stir-fry recipe? What about the best friggin’ turkey burger this side of the Mississippi?)

Happy cooking!

2 thoughts on “Upcoming Eats & Grocery List

Leave a Reply

