Survival

Ummm, I don’t even know where to begin!

School started on Wednesday, and the last three days have been the most heart-warming and challenging of my entire life.  I met all of my students on Wednesday and not a one of them wanted to have anything to do with me or school, for that matter, and by the end of the day I was more exhausted than I thought was possible.

After a glass of wine and an hour of moaning and groaning to my husband, I pulled myself together and moved on to the next day.  Thursday and Friday my students seemed to recognize the fact that they have 170ish more days to either fight the man or buckle down and succumb to the routine of school again, and most of them have started to warm up to the latter.

Guys, the variety in personality is awesome and incredible! I know I’ve had kids before, and they were just as unique and fun, but these little guys are part of the TMS tough love culture and they have made their (pretty high!) expectations of me known – loud and clear! I love them all to death already, but I know that I have so much growing to do and SO MUCH TO LEARN.

My colleagues are definitely the best in the universe.  I’ve never laughed so hard and felt so intrigued by so many different people.  And they like me! I think.

I’ve done a lot of this:

Image

Some of this:

Image

But mostly this:

Image

I can’t wait to see what the rest of this journey brings me.

Love,

N

Leave a Reply

