Hail Mary, Full of Grace

“You’re so blessed among women,
    and the babe in your womb, also blessed!
And why am I so blessed that
    the mother of my Lord visits me?
The moment the sound of your
    greeting entered my ears,
The babe in my womb
    skipped like a lamb for sheer joy.
Blessed woman, who believed what God said,
    believed every word would come true!” – Luke 1:42-45

I’m about a week behind on my SheReadsTruth readings, but this morning I’m in the scripture learning about Mary’s faith.  I know that as a child, growing up Catholic, Mary was a huge deal.  As I ventured outside of the Catholic church and found my place elsewhere, I didn’t understand why Mary had been given so much credit and power to pray over our souls…

“Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee; blessed art thou amongst women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen”

Reading this morning about how she was chosen to bear the Son of God and how her faith was so completely submissive and graceful makes me understand this so much more.  Mary had a faith that I long for, despite the torment she had to endure through her pregnancy and then through the crucifixion and torture of her own son.  I’ve never known pain like Mary did, and I pray that I will never have to.  

***

I don’t know when or if children are in God’s plans for me, but I fear becoming a mother every single day — drugs, violence, chemical imbalances and heart conditions that he or she will inherit, bullying, self-awareness, the question of his or her faith, poverty, decisions…  Can you imagine if I added “imminent beatings and crown of thorns for the sake of humanity” to that list?! 

Either way, I want to be like both Mary and Jesus.  I want to have the spirit that Mary had, where when God told her something was coming, all she did was nod faithfully and ask “How high?” She gave birth in a BARN and she continued to ask “What would you like of me, my God?” No wonder she was chosen to bear the Savior! I’ll probably bear something similar to Gollum if it’s dependent upon my level of patience and willingness… 

I pray for that kind of faith and strength.  I pray for the patience to know that God will keep His promises to me and Robert.  I know that we will be taken care of once we get to where we’re going, but I know that only God can grant me the peace it takes to wait on those promises to be fulfilled. 

Image

Leave a Reply

