Furniture and Bungalows

It’s probably a terrible idea to start acquiring pieces of furniture before we pack up and move our entire lives to the next state… but some things you just can’t pass up!

IMG_6697

A friend of mine from grad school is moving to China (she’s a total BAMF) and in order to condense the amount of things to move, she was selling her bed. Now, you may or may not know that I have been coveting this beautiful iron bed from Ikea for the last three years.. THREE YEARS, people! Whenever I had the money for it, I never had the means to transport it home, and when I did… I was broke.  Catch-22 every single time.

Last year we bought a new mattress and had saved up just enough extra to buy the bed when lo and behold.. Ikea friggin’ discontinued the bed (which they’d been selling for, oh, five years?).

really-seth-and-amy

So, after mourning its loss for a few months, I jumped at the chance to buy it from my friend and it is now sitting happily up against our bookcase. We can’t decide whether or not to put it together now or wait until we’ve moved… but I don’t know if I can wait two weeks to see that baby all suited up.

ikea-bed-0709-de

She’s just so pretty.

In other news, I have been slowly packing away things that we don’t use on a regular basis.  Mostly my thirty thousand books, winter clothes, and tupperware.. but we’re getting there.  I don’t want to pack too much just yet, but I’m also so ready to get over there.

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 2.12.11 PM

Isn’t it adorable!? Now, all of the stuff on the porch (including the wreath) belongs to the owners, so they’re taking that with them, but otherwise, it’s our sweet little bungalow! I fell so hard for this little house and can’t believe we get to live there.  There’s a huge backyard and it’s 2.8 miles from downtown and fifteen minutes from school! FIFTEEN!

Oh, and speaking of school, my principal e-mailed the other day and asked if I’d like to switch to teaching three sections of 8th grade and one English 1 section for advanced 8th graders. Uh, yes? Is there another word that means HECK YES that would be appropriate to e-mail to my boss?

Other than that, I have been reading like a crazy person, playing the Sims nonstop moderately, and enjoying the summer.

IMG_6687(A little ladies’ classics for one of my Goodreads book clubs)

IMG_6683(With some girly pink wine)

It’s crazy to think that this is probably the last summer I’ll have to totally lounge like a teenager, but I’m more than excited to start my career and to spend the next million years with kids in the classroom.

What about you? What have you been up to? Stuck in an office making dat money? Taking summer classes? Playing the Sims like an addict?

One thought on “Furniture and Bungalows

Leave a Reply

