What I’ve Been Reading Lately

Good morning, all!

Has anyone else been experiencing some serious sinus funk? Everyone, including the kitties, have been suffering through sinus pressure, sneezes, and (me, in particular) sinus headaches.  Argh! The headaches are the worst because I feel like my head is a giant bean bag and the pain follows the motion of my head. My sister mentioned that local honey helps sinus/allergy problems, but I rarely experience it so I haven’t thought to buy any.

I wanted to share with you guys some of my favorite reads as of late.  I LOVE that summer has given me the opportunity to join multiple virtual book clubs (Goodreads is where it’s AT, y’all!) ranging from literary classics and non-fiction to chick and YA lit.

Image

The book club nearest and dearest to my heart consists of me and a few girls that I’ve been friends with since high school.  Considering we’re all in completely different states throughout the southeast, it was really beautiful and encouraging to get to spend some virtual time with them via Google Hangouts and discuss the Young Adult phenom Code Name: Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

Image

I honestly couldn’t tell y’all if this penchant of mine for YA Lit is due to the simple fact that I’m a secondary lit teacher, but everything about it fascinates me — even the novels that are filled with whining teenagers (sorry, John Green).  AND, despite being totally burnt out on Holocaust/WWII fiction, this presented a very interesting perspective on the English RAF and its secret agents.  Not to mention the beautifully portrayed friendship between two girls that had nothing to do with materialism and shallow behavior.  Warning — you may have to read it twice, and you’ll DEFINITELY need to brush up on your airplane terminology!

Image

The Devil in the White City

This has to be my favorite read of the summer, so far.  I’ll admit, I’ve given it more attention than any of the other books I’ve been reading and it has been SO worth it! I’ve never ever been huge into non-fiction, unless it was analytical in some nature, but this reads like an episode of Criminal Minds.  Larson tells both the tale of the construction of the 1893 Columbian Exposition, AKA the Chicago World’s Fair, and also of the first recorded American serial killer, Dr. H. H. Holmes.  Don’t think I’m a total freak, but the serial killer parts FASCINATE me.  For a girl who is as addicted to crime shows as I am, this is definitely fulfilling my slightly wacky needs.  I’ve also heard rumors that Leo DiCaprio has bought the film rights and wants to play the infamous Holmes. Who else is pumped!?

Image

Trying to increase my credibility as a Lit nerd, I’ve also been attempting at least one “classic” per month.  Last month I read The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty (loved it) and one of the main characters was reading The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton throughout parts of it.  I’m a huge fan of satire and anything that seeks to test the limits of social norms and conservative traditions, so I thought I’d give this a shot.  So far, it’s quite endearing, but I can already tell Newland Archer, the male protagonist, is going to irritate the dickens (hah!) out of me.

Image

What about you? What are you reading lately? Do you move around the house in search of the perfect reading spot? Do you have a pool to soak up rays and literature by? Or do you snuggle with your perfect cat babies and a mug of hot coffee in your sunroom?

Either way, I hope you’re reading and having a fantastic Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

