Faux Cabin Fever

Well…

We all know that I am the biggest home body in the world.  My idea of a wild and crazy weekend is baking a thousand dozen cookies, having some club soda with a squeeze of lime, and a date with my hubby, usually comprised of Psych reruns.

So, for me, this whole “snowed in” business? A dream come true. Erm, hello? I get to wake up in my PJs, sit at my desk while working AND catching up on blogs without fear that someone will come by and assume I’m neglecting my responsibilities.  Oh, and run back and forth from my office to the kitchen baking these.

Seriously, y’all.  Christmas is supposed to be OVER.  And along with it, my longing to bake cookies.

Alas.. my sweet tooth has yet to receive that memo.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls
(recipe from thechiclife)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 stick butter, softened/room-temp
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 egg (or flaxseed-egg)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix sugars and butter till creamy. (I used a handheld mixer, but you could probably just use a whisk). Add egg and vanilla and mix till combined.
  4. Mix wet into the dry. Note: it will appear there is not enough liquid for the amount of dry ingredients, but continue mixing. It will form into a dough, it will just be a firm dough. See tips above for combining. Careful to not overmix.
  5. Gently fold chocolate chips into the dough, without overmixing.
  6. Refrigerate dough for at least 20 minutes before using a small sorbet scoop to scoop out dough into small mounds. Roll each mound into a ball and spread evenly on a baking sheet, leaving roughly 2-3 inches between each ball.
  7. Bake balls for 10-14 minutes, depending on how set you want your centers. If you use egg, and you’re paranoid like me, you can use a meat thermometer to ensure the centers of the balls are at least 160 degrees F, which many web sites say is the safe temp to eat eggs.
  8. Let your dough balls rest on the baking sheet to cool at least 5-10 minutes.
  9. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

