Buttery Delicious Shortbread

For about two weeks now, I’ve had this insane hankerin’ for some shortbread.  The Walker’s Scotch shortbread at the store have been taunting me in their lusty tartan packaging, but I can never bring myself to pay that much for a few handfuls of cookies.  So what, I’m cheap.  Somehow I reached the end of the Christmas season without a single person offering me any beautiful buttery shortbread.

So, I did what any other girl in my shoes would do… I saddled up Eloise and found myself a shortbread recipe. (Eloise is what I affectionately refer to my Kitchen-aid as)

Literally — easiest things to make, ever. Two sticks of butter (that’s right), some powdered sugar, cornstarch, flour, and a few minutes in the oven… and you have powdery, literally melt-in-your mouth shortbread. Next time, though, I might add a tiny bit of almond extract and a tiny bit more sugar to my batch for an extra kick to the taste buds.

And of course, leave it to my kid sister to one-up my cookies by adding some raspberry jam she found in the fridge.

Such a beautiful experience.

2 thoughts on “Buttery Delicious Shortbread

Leave a Reply

