The Power of Pumping Iron

I always feel SO much better about life and everything in it after I work out.  SO GOOD.

(Not my photo)

Can you tell I just got home from the gym?

I’ve been trying to set up a proper workout routine, each week trying a new one to see which one fits with my schedule and which one benefits me the most without debilitating my extremities.  I’ve come up with this:

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays I’ve been doing cardio and half-marathon training.  I push myself a few more minutes on the elliptical each time, and do my appointed training on the treadmill for the half-marathon.  I warm up, have at it, and total I’m there about an hour.

On Tuesdays and Thursdays I strength train.  A little biceps, triceps, shoulders, forearms, back, abs, hamstrings, and thighs.  I’m too scared to do glutes just yet because I seriously think it’s all fat and there’s nothing to even work out there… but everything else burns nicely.  I warm up for ten minutes on the treadmill and go at the weights for about 40-50 minutes.

On Saturdays I do a little bit of both.. or something fun like a workout video, and Sundays are rest day.

This seems to be working for now.  And yes, before anyone asks, P90X got put on hold due to its lengthiness.  Our schedules are too crazy for us to try to do it in the morning before work and school, and we really want to do it all the way through together.

I am thinking about leaving my gym, though.  It’s pretty much been taken over by Shorter athletes, and it’s a little crowded… not to mention, I have a lot of the equipment at home, and the trails around here are beautiful to run.  The elliptical is what’s pulling me back — I love it so!

What about you? What is your workout routine like? Do you recommend any changes to mine?

3 thoughts on “The Power of Pumping Iron

  1. I do Zumba twice a week with the Y, but it sounds like you’re looking for something way more intense than that. You might want to check out the infomercials on it anyway though; it might be a good way to break up the monotony. It’s pretty fun!

      • I know that they have videos you can order. I don’t know much about them, except that from the infomercials, they look super-crazy. Not sure how good it is with the step-by-step learning curve.

        I’m not a Y member, but our church has a partnership with them (and the class is actually held in our church gym), so church members get a discount. See if your local Y does Zumba and if they let you pay per class. It’d be cheaper than a membership, and you’d only be paying for when you have time/the inclination to go.

Leave a Reply

