An Ode to October

Alas, Halloween is over.  October, in fact, is over! So sad!

It is by far, my favorite month of the year for many reasons, and it doesn’t even hold my birthday.

First of all… there are glorious fruits and vegetables in season during the month of October.  Like the apple.

In Ellijay, Georgia there is an Apple Festival every October (I know, right? Freakin’ amazing).

It spans about a zillion miles and holds some of the greatest fall festival cuisine out there.

That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, that says ‘fried twinkies’.  Despite what my gastric bypass surgeon and nutritionist would say, I ordered one and took a bite.  I was a bit disappointed, in all reality.  The twinkie actually lost its sponginess and it tasted like one bit fried piece of cake — not the best.

However, I was able to quickly recover from my disappointment with a bite of Katie’s fried oreo.  I love oreos to begin with, and the frying process made the cookie softer and even better, if that’s possible.

Basically, everything was an amorphous blob of fried dough covered in powdered sugar.  Fortunately, my conscience and my stummy both said “only one bite”, which I caved into, and was able to enjoy the taste for a moment.

The same went for the savory:

Katie got a few fried green tomatoes (yes, everything was fried, welcome to the south) for us to try.

Now, I’m not a tomato fan in any way… but these were some of the best fried green tomatoes I’ve ever had.  Something about the batter was just salty and crunchy and spicy in all the right ways.  Mmm!

Lauren had been going on and on since the beginning of fall about getting herself a corn dog somewhere.

So she found herself a Paula Deen-sized corn dog and went at it.  I’m not a huge corn dog fan, so I stayed away.

On the way home, Lauren and I looked back and saw this:

Needless to say, we had a long and delicious day!

We bid adieu to October this weekend with some shenanigans, beginning with a Rocky Horror sing-a-long on Friday:

And a costume part on Saturday!

(My sweet Mario-husband)

(My tiny sister and I!)

All in all, October has been a fun-filled month…

And I most excitedly look forward to November!

One thought on “An Ode to October

  1. This made a super happy!! october is my favorite month too, mostly because halloween is my favorite holiday and the weather change. I’m glad someone agrees! love and miss you ma’m!

Leave a Reply

