Meet Eloise

I decided the only appropriate name for my beauty was Eloise.  I feel that the name Eloise has a rustic tone, but also charming, and the equivalent of a twinkle in the eyes of elderly wisdom.  I can’t WAIT to use her! She now sits on top of the giant wooden chopping block Aunt Debbie got us from IKEA.  Yeah, it fits onto the counter, that’s how huge it is!

I have been bad about taking foodie pictures lately, but I’ll try my best.

(Not my photo)

For breakfast today I had a half cup of Multigrain cheerios mixed with a quarter of a cup of grape nuts for some extra crunch.  Sooo good and sooo fibrous.  Probably TMI, but my bowels were way grateful.

For lunch, somewhere between organizing and the 18 tons of laundry we did, Lily and I made ourselves this amazing little concoction.  We made our own sun-dried tomato pesto with sun-dried tomatoes, basil, olive oil and parm, spread it on a whole wheat pita, and loaded the pita up with mushrooms, tomatoes, spinach and feta. Put that baby in the oven at 400 and let it crunch up.  I added some crushed red pepper and balsamic to mine for extra flavor, but it was awesome, to say the least.

(not my photo)

Here in NW GA, the rains have been a-comin’ like crazy lately.  So, tonight, in order to cozy up and celebrate the storms, I made my own version of chicken and dumplings in the crock pot.  So bad for us, yes, but so good for our hearts.  I put an extra plop of paprika and cayenne just for good measure and, y’all, when I went back to look, it was gone.

Yesterday, us girls had lunch at the tea room… and nothing describes my plate better than the word SUMMER. I had only a few bites of the chicken salad because it was pretty heavy, but the watermelon and the cantaloupe (not picture because I had already devoured it), as well as the pasta salad were amazing… but really, it’s all about the salad with crumbled feta, mandarins and the homemade raspberry vinaigrette. There aren’t words for how much I love that vinaigrette.  Seriously, I would sacrifice lots of things in life just for that little cup right there.  Also, I ordered my favorite blood-orange tea iced this time and it was heavenly.  Now I know what to do with that bag of tea leaves in the pantry on those hot summer days — I now know it’s just as delicious iced.

For me, it’s bedtime! Remember, if you are just tuning in, don’t hesitate to go back and catch up on my tumblrsboth of them!

2 thoughts on “Meet Eloise

  1. Pingback: January Time « Life as a Feast

  2. Pingback: Meet Henrietta « Life as a Feast

Leave a Reply

