Sloppy Josephines

In our attempt to follow through with a meat-free Lent season, Robert and I made Mama Pea’s Sloppy Josephines last week.

For those of you that know my beloved husband, you know he’s not a bean eater.  The only beans Mr. Rader will eat are baked beans because, and I quote “They taste like bacon and candy.”

Umm. Okay.

Just to get this out in the open, my life would be much easier, as would this meat-free business, if Robert ate beans.  Not to mention cheaper, healthier, etc. Alas, I married for love and not for bean affinity… right?

Still, I held my breath and cooked them anyway.

Like I’ve told everyone before, we’re broke frugal, and therefore, our groceries aren’t always organic or “the best quality”. Hence, the Kraft BBQ sauce.  Still tasty, mind you.  Also, one can of Hunts, one can of organic.  Compromise? I think so.  And that’s the fancy red wine vinegar, thanks.

While I was on my way home, I had Robert start boiling up a cup of green lentils.  They go in for about 30 minutes and come out tender, but with enough texture to go great in these faux-sloppy-Joes.

In addition to the above ingredients, get your hubby to chop up about a half a cup of onions.

While the onions brown a bit, chop up two cloves of garlic, and then throw them in along with the chili powder and oregano.  Let them heat things up a little bit together.

After that starts to smell lovely and delightful, add the tomato paste, tomato sauce, red wine vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, and BBQ sauce.  And remember your measurements! Don’t try to pour the whole bottle of BBQ sauce… like I almost did.

Stir stir stir!

Get your teeny tiny Lentils ready.  Lent. Lentils, hah! I just put that together.

Let them join the party and stir to combine.

If you feel, at this point, that you need a little salt and peppa, go for it.

Mmm, served up on a toasted whole wheat hoagie.  Robert added pickles to his for the true blue BBQ experience.

I served mine up with a simple salad of spinach, sunflower seeds, goat cheese, and balsamic vinegar.

Oh, goat cheese.  I could never say no to you.

I would eat it on a dish, with a fish… in a boat with a… goat? Awkward.

Y’all, it was like a glorified sloppy Joe, for real.  You know the Manwich stuff that we all grew up on? Same basic flavors but pumped up times a thousand.  The hint of oregano does beautiful things.  And the lentils are the perfect texture to go in a sandwich.  I’m curious as to how this would do with tempeh…

And guess what? Mr. Rader LOVED them! Maybe there’s hope, yet.

Did you give up something for Lent? How’s it going?

I’m pretty much a failure this Lent season, but this recipe was a success!

2 thoughts on “Sloppy Josephines

  1. Love it! My husband and I are “frugal” as well and until recently I was 100% vegetarian which was less than healthy on such a tight budget. I will defiantly be adding this to our rice and beans rotation.

Leave a Reply

